Borrowing holds automatically

By default, holds are automatically borrowed and added to your Shelf once they're available. You'll receive an email when this happens.

To turn off automatic borrowing for your holds:

  1. Go to Shelf > Holds > Actions > Manage Hold Notices.
  2. Turn off the Borrow automatically setting.
  3. Tap Update Existing Holds (if you have any holds to update).

Once you turn off this setting, you'll need to manually borrow holds when they become available, within a certain period of time (typically 3 days). If you don't, the hold will lapse and go to the next person in line.